I'm bored, so I thought I'd take a look at some of the spambots that are flooding the gay.com chatrooms as they so often do. Previously, I'd checked out the registration for inetmates.net. Doing a little more research, I've found one for hornydolls.com:
Registrant Contact:
sss
Edward Chretien (xxxxx@toughguy.net)
(413) 443-xxxxx
Fax: none
xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pittsfield, MA 01201
US
This is a totally different name and address than for inetmates.com, but notice that the "sss" at the top is identical. That suggests that it's the same spammer, but using faked domain registration information. I'm not sure, but it seems possible, so I've removed the identifying information above, in case he really is an innocent party.
So lets take a look at some of these spam domains:
| Domain |
IP address |
Payload site |
| icamsonline.com |
81.31.38.5 |
ifriends.com |
| hornydolls.com |
81.31.38.5 |
ifriends.com |
| inetmates.net |
81.31.38.5 |
ifriends.com |
| camboiz.net |
81.31.38.5 |
ifriends.com |
Hmmm, notice a trend here? All the domains point to exmasters.com, a spam-friendly web hosting service in the Czech Republic. They all then link to what are presumably porn cam sites hosted by iFriends.com / webpower.com / clickcash.com. (Here is the iFriends SPEWS entry.)
All these domains are regitered through registerfly.com. From what I can find on Usenet, this also seems to be a spam-friendly (surprise) domain registrar.
So we've got a bunch of domains with probably-faked registration information, registered through a spam-friendly registrar, hosted at a spam-friendly web host, directing to a spam-friendly porn site.
The ultimate responsibilty here lies with iFriends. This problem isn't new (you don't get put into SPEWS for just a little spam); it's been going on for years. They do occasionally take down a spammed site, but the fact that the spammer just goes on and signs up again and is spamming the next day shows that they are not really interested in stopping the abuse. After all, this doesn't appear to be a site where people put up their naked pictures, but rather one that charges money. (I'm not sure, since there's NO way I'm giving them my credit card info just to find out.) If there is a financial link between iFriends and the spammer, then there is no way they don't have names and address, or bank account numbers.
Unfortunately, gay.com doesn't appear to be interested in stopping the rampant abuse of their system, the alienation of their customers, and the loss of their ad revenue. The problem is so bad, it's given rise to alternate chat clients that eliminate the problem: the gayboi.org client and Chattage. Gay.com is the only one that can stop the problem, and they don't seem to be interested.